Français

Vehicle Expense - Not CCA

weesep

This is my first time using UFILE, usually I go to H&R block but my regular lady retired so I thought I'd take a shot at doing this myself....wow.  I didn't pay her enough.

Here's my problem. 

I run my own small business out of the house, it doesn't make a ton of money but it's fun.  I claim the income and I claim my expenses, one of which is my vehicle costs.  I track my mileage for the business separate from my personal use but it's the same truck.  My H&R block lady seems to be able to track all this info in a category called "Motor Vehicle Expense (not include CCA) (See chart A)"  

Chart A 

Allows me to track:

KM's for total usage and business usage 

Fuel and Oil
insurance

Maintenance
License and Registration
Leasing 
and Other

And produces me a number to use on line 9281 in Part 5 on Page 2

In the UFILE software, I only seem to have three options for vehicle expense and all of them are CCA.

Without using a CCA option, I can't seem to claim mileage or fuel costs, two of my biggest expenses and that plays a big role in my final numbers.

Any suggestions on how to capture these values or where else I may have missed the chance to enter them?

Thanks in advance...(and by advance, I know I'm late by 6 months on my taxes already)

Weesep

Hi Weesep,

You can deduct expenses you paid to run a motor vehicle you use to earn employment income.

We assume that you have already completed the "Employment expenses" page and that you now want to complete the "Motor vehicle expenses" subsection.

1 - In the "Left side menu on the Interview tab", under "Employment Expenses", choose the "Motor vehicle expenses" subsection and on the screen on the right, select "Purchased motor vehicle expenses for purposes of employment expenses".
2 - In the first part of the "Motor vehicle expenses for purposes of employment expenses" page, enter the information about your vehicle.