Français
jellytot

Reporting gains or losses from investments

In 2012, I bought some stocks and I sold some stocks. My investment service sent me a "Transaction Summary", which is a record of my buys/sells with prices (I received no other documents from them). I entered the data into a spreadsheet and I made a little money overall.

Now... what do I do with this information and what do I into Ufile?

I'm new at this. Would appreciate any help. Thank you!

In addition to the Interest/Investment income page there is also the "Capital Gains & ABIL" page. There is a "Stocksmutual funds and other non depreciable property" section there with spaces to enter capital gain and loss information for stock sales.

Do I have to enter information there as well? If so, why are there two places to enter this?

For now I have entered each of my 7 stock sales separately in the "Interest/Investment Income" page, although I understand I could have just put one entry there with the total sales and total cost to buy.

I am sorry, I misread your first post, it is indeed in the "Stocks, mutual funds and other depreciable property" section of the "Capital Gains & ABIL" page that you need to enter the information.

PS: Do not forget to remove it from the Interest/Investment section.

Sorry again for this inconvenience.

The sale of stocks should be entered in the Capital gains section. The purchase is not reported.

The interest expenses should be entered in "Interest expenses on money borrowed to earn investment income" which can be found in the "Interest/Investment income" section of the QuikClik navigator.

How do you group the Capital gains reported into one line, there were numerous trades in 2012 that I don't want to have to enter individually.  But the online tool asks for dates/ quantity etc.  I have a summary from TD Waterhouse that I just want to include for my return.  Please advise.