Français
Frustrated_Dad_57

Daughter's College Tuition?

Morning To Everyone

I have been using "U-file", for many years now and I really have had No Issues

that I was aware of until now.

My 22 year old Daughter lives at home - works 2 part-time jobs to pay her way

through College and spending money...which I always thought was the right thing to do.

She has Graduated in 2012 and was given Form T2202A from the institution which took me

several days of on-line research trying to figure out how to "Utilize" this in a desparate attempt to "Find Schedule MB-s11"....in U-file.

She did not make enough to surpass the "Personal Exemptions" so when researching this I learned of

"Transfering the "Tuition fee's " or portion there-of to me............since I have "Paid for much of it".

The trouble lies in the fact that when I did her Taxes first without the "Tuition" pages....using only her

"T-4's"..........she was to get a "Refund" of over a $1500.00  than with the "Tuition Rebate Form".

In other words ...her Tax Refund is less by 60% using the "Tuition Rebate Form" and I must admit that

I am having trouble figuring out the sense of this one.

Any ideas what I may have done wrong would be appreciated as I am running out of Online pages to read.

I did choose "Transfer Unused Tuition to Parent Unprocessd Amount" even though I am not sure

if "Any Amount Is Being Used" in her Tax as it looks like the Full $5000.00 is Transfered to mine.

Thanks for any insight.

Dad

It is hard for me to answer this question without seeing the actual tax return.

I can tell you that the fact that you are receiving the full transfer amount doe not prove anything. Her benefit is much more than that.

Look at her Schedule 11 which will tell you if she is using any of it.

Dovid Z Lando

Afternoon To All

I am still at it but I believe I may have found the answer.

After printing out the two different tax forms and comparing them,