Français
DevDye

Tuition Deductions

Hello,

So my taxes are relatively simple as I am a student. However, I am having issues on Ufile when submitting my tuition. Before I insert my tuition amount from my T2202A, my refund comes in under $1,500... after the tuition is submitted,  the refund comes in at under $400. Is there a reason for this? It seems a bit backwards.

Thanks for your help.

List the tuition by institution. If the total amount of tuition is less than $100, the program will not calculate the deduction, as this deduction would be denied anyway.

Tuition fees must be entered in the file of the person who incurred the fees. Enter a brief description of school expenses, and then enter the amount of tuition paid for the tax year.

Schedule 11 must be filed with the student's tax return.

Depending on your province or territory of residence, you may need to enter information that is specific to your province or territory of residence. Please follow the steps below:

1. In the "QuikClik Navigator" to the left of the screen, select "Interview setup".

2. In the section "Deductions and credits", check the box for "Tuition, education, textbooks, student loans" and click "Next" at the bottom of the page.

3. Return to the "QuikClik Navigator" and select the item "Tuition, education, student loans".

4. On the screen to your right, choose the line "Tuition, education and textbook amounts* (line 323)".

5. On the page that appears, enter the information relevant to your situation depending on where you live. Also, enter the number of months of post-secondary full-time or part-time studies, if applicable, as per the information appearing on your T2202A statement.

For Quebec residents, enter the information found on the RL-8 slip. For the 2013 tax year, the RL-8 slip has been modified. There are two boxes where the tuition or examination fees are entered, based on the date on which the expenses were incurred, namely "Boxes B1 and B2".