Français

Rental income - can't see my co-owner's details (my spouse)

tiny

This is my first time to use UFile, took me long time to figure it out, I think it's a good software. My husband and I have been filing separately for years, so we still file separately this year. We've each 50% of share on our rental property, I put his details on my rental income section already (I have a Mac so I use UFile Online), but after I downloaded the PDF file and opened it, I can't see his details under "Details of other co-owners and partners" section in my Statement of Real Estate Rentals. What did I do wrong? Anyone can help me here? Thanks!

If the rental property is owned by a partnership, one of the partners in the company could be either your spouse or other people.

In order to report a rental income, follow the steps below:

1- In the "QuikClik Navigator", select the item "Rental income" and in the page on your right, choose "T776 - Rental income property".

2- Return to the "QuikClik Navigator" and choose the item "Partners".

3- In the screen on your right, you have two (2) choices, "Spouse co-owner of this rental property" or "Other partner or co-owner of this rental property".

4- If your spouse is co-owner, you have two choices in the drop-down menu, "Generate rental income statement for spouse" or "Do not generate rental income statement for spouse".

5- If you choose the first option, it is not necessary to enter information about the building in your spouse's file. However, the program will generate the Statement of Real estate Rental, both federal and Quebec for Quebec residents.

6- However, if you have different expenses, you should select the second option and the program will not generate the statement of real estate rentals automatically, in which case you must enter the complete information relating to the rental property in your spouse's file.