Français
digitalatlas

Line 423 Family Tax Credit, doesn't show up

Hi,

I've been using uFile Online for many years now.  This year I'm planning to claim the Family Tax Credit (if it is put into force).  I entered all my information into uFile and indicated I wanted to claim the Family Tax Credit.

However, when I get to the results page, nothing shows up on Line 423 for the Family Tax Credit.  I indicated I wanted to claim, but answered that my spouse's income was NOT nil for all 3 related questions.  On her return, she indicated that her spouse (me) would claim the credit, and answered that my income was NOT nil for all 3 related questions.

I downloaded Schedule 1A from CRA and manually calculated the value of the tax credit for my family and I should be eligible for an amount.  However, uFile is not showing anything on Line 423.  Am I missing something?

Has this feature been implemented, or is uFile waiting until the Family Tax Credit is actually put into law before it does the calculations?

Thanks

On October 30, 2014, the federal government introduced a Family Tax Cut, a non-refundable tax credit of up to $ 2,000 for couples with minor-aged children.

This new Family Tax Cut enter into force for the 2014 and subsequent taxation years.

To be eligible for this new credit, you must meet the following conditions:

You were a resident of Canada on December 31 of the year (or on the date of death);

You have an eligible spouse or common-law partner for the year who has not claimed the Family Tax Cut;

You have a child who is under 18 at the end of the year who ordinarily lives throughout the year with you or your eligible spouse or common-law partner;

You were not confined to a prison or similar institution for a period of at least 90 days during the year;

Neither you nor your eligible spouse or common-law partner became bankrupt in the year;

Neither you nor your eligible spouse or common-law partner elected to split eligible pension income in the year; and