Français

Filing a Quebec tax return as non resident for tax purposes (living in Quebec for less than 183 days in 2022)

Jesse RJ

In the process of completing my Quebec tax return for 2022 I am stumbling on figuring out the correct way to file.

Background info

• Arrived in Quebec at the end of July 2022
  • Had foreign employment income from a country having a tax treating with Canada
  • living in Quebec for less than 183 days per tax year
  • obtained RAMQ coverage for 3 months in 2022
  • had child care expenses in Quebec in 2022

I am able to specify either:

1. that I was a non resident of Quebec in the identification tab, however then all the pertinent forms relating to Quebec are not available. Under the Review tab I am not required then to pay any taxes for 2022 (great but doesn't seem correct)
  2. or I specify that am a resident of Quebec and must then pay:
  • Quebec drug prescription plan (this is of course acceptable)
  • QPIP premium on income from self-employment or employment outside Québec (I believe I do not have to pay this as I am not a resident of Quebec)

I called revenue Quebec and was instructed that I was a non resident and to do the following:

• "Line 17, specify country of Residence"
  • "Line 18, specify date of arrival"
  • "Use Code 02 for reason for stay in Quebec: Short Time Stay"

This would apply to completing the tax forms manually. I do not know however how to enter the same information in UFile.

Question: Is there a way to specify using UFile a short term stay in Quebec?

Apologies if this question has been asked previously, I searched the forum but did not find a related question.

Many thanks in advance

Jesse

Hello Jesse RJ,

If you wish to enter a short term stay in Canada, then go to the "Interview" section and click on the  "Interview setup" in the left side column.