Français

Question about Printing Off UFile Online Tax Return Package and Mailing to CRA

Tom Martin

Hello, please forgive my ignorance if this is not the right place to post this. I am not sure anyone can help me, but I have a question about what should I do. A little background first, I've been using UFile Online and Netfiling my return for a few years now. Last year, my Aunt asked me if I could use UFile online to complete her 2019 tax return, which I did (about first of March), she didn't have any problems until getting a call from the CRA about early August stating that there was some fraud done on her account about late June 2020 regarding her GST/Ontario Trillium Credit Benefits as well as someone tried to collect CERB in her name (which she was not eligible for in the first place being on OAS). My Aunt's case was brought through to the CRA Fraud department and after it was settled (Late December 2020) and her GST/Ontario Trillium Benefits were going directly into her account again.

This year (2021), when I tried to NETFILE her return using UFile Online, it stated that she was ineligible to NETFILE her return this year, and her NETFILE account was locked with error message "Result: 14". She called the CRA up and we could not get a straight answer from them. The CRA Rep. had us go through some info on her return to see if it was correct, which it was, but was still locked out of her NETFILE account after talking with the CRA Rep.

My Aunt decided to mail her return this year instead and would be my first time mailing a return, as I've always Netfiled my returns. I printed off the entire Tax package including the UFile cover page, I attached her T4 slips as well as original rent receipts (which I made copies for her) and just mailed it today. I did not realize that you're only supposed to mail certain pages of the tax return to the CRA (along with T4 Slips and rent receipts)