Français

Claim CCA furnitures for rental property, questions about how to fill box for T776 form

Hi, sorry it is my first time to rent property, I am trying to claim depreciation for rental property for 2020. I have questions with the tax return report generated with my input, please help.

for testing purpose example, if I have a bed frame furniture I bought for $200 with my rented apartment.

In CCA page, I input like this below
Class8Form.PNG.7cd103ea33000babe224737bdd700d63.PNG

[1] I added one page with Class8,

[2] filled the box "Opening balance of the UCC" with $200

[3] filled purchase date

[4] filled description and amount of captial additions(other than AIIP) with $200

like above, but the entry generate in T776 below I could not understand,

//question 1

from the T776 form generated,

in Area A, the column 13, it becomes 400, i know it looks not correct, but I dont know how should I fill that previous interview form Class 8 to correct this area, which box I should fill? Please advice

T776_questions.thumb.PNG.d05f55478675cdd93b90820e4162bc66.PNG

//question 2

from the T776 form generated,

in Area B, it filled the equipment addition in the year, but I also know there is a "half-year rule" that I can usually claim CCA only on one-half of my net additions to a class, does that mean I purchase this bed frame for $200 and I can only input 100?, and in which box?

//question 3

Because I only rented my apartment for 2 months in 2020, it was a rental loss, based on CRA's topic, limits on CCA, I cannot use CCA to create a rental loss, then my question is,

[1] it means I can only claim CCA in 2021 tax return report right?

[2] then my furniture become 1 years old, how can I input my bed frame in my 2021 CCA Claim? still input $200 ?

Please advice, thank you very much in advance !

Kind regards,

Hello szysagittar.

You don't enter current acquisitions in the opening UCC, so remove it and leave your other entries as they are.